Sometimes you just want to pull out the crayons

I was at Target today and I was tempted by one of my favourite sights: a full box of unused, pointy, perfect crayons. In our family this doesn’t last long; my kids are in the “Push So Hard The Crayons Break” school of colouring and thus none of our crayons last more than a few weeks at best. We do, however, have a large box of broken or flat crayons. 🙂

So, I broke down and bought a new box – it was only about $2.50 – of 48 crayons. It’s glorious! And already kinda worn down, of course, because we started colouring immediately. Or, if not immediately, within a few minutes of my printing out a bunch of Disney colouring pages from TV’s “The Internet”.*

I fully believe that everyone should take the time to break open a new box of Crayolas and put their mark on a nice blank colouring page. Disney-themed or not. I feel like I got my money’s worth out of these new crayons simply because I coloured this:

I called this "My terror that flaps in the night" and confused my kids with the possessive term.

Darkwing Duck is my jam, yo.

If you have never printed out any colouring pages, here are a few you might enjoy. I found them all free online so I think they are fine to pass along here without credit. 🙂 Save, print, and spend 20 minutes making some art, y’all. 😀

My kids: "He's funny! Does he have a cricket friend?" Yes. Essentially yes.

My kids: “He’s funny! Does he have a cricket friend?” Yes. Essentially yes.

SCROOGE MCDUCK! Because Scrooge McDuck.

SCROOGE MCDUCK! Because Scrooge McDuck.

Jasmine is not my fave princess but she is among my favourites to colour.

Jasmine is not my fave princess but she is among my favourites to colour.

Again, not my fave villain, but fun when the crayons get involved!

Again, not my fave villain, but fun when the crayons get involved!

* This is a long-term nonsense thing I have been saying since about 2000. I say this only because you probably are thinking “TV’s what?”

One thought on “Sometimes you just want to pull out the crayons

  1. I just have to say that (call me weird) the smell of a new box of crayons is one of life’s greatest pleasures. This makes me want to color (or colour, if you prefer). So glad you’re back!

Leave a comment