Enchanted Tiki Ooze (I mean, Tiki TALK. Really.)

Hey Howdy Hey!  Back again with some more notes and thoughts about the Enchanted Tiki Talk podcast!  Listen along with me at their site or on iTunes. And if you do listen on iTunes be sure to rate and review!

Once more, we’re going back into the archives here as I catch up some… flashback time! (cue the harp music…)

 

Episode 10: Sharing the Holidays 
It’s Christmas Time up in here! Why didn’t the Tiki Room ever have a Christmas overlay? I’m just asking. As I’m sure everyone else is.

I think there’s clearly a market for Tiki Ooze.

Many people would intend to spend Christmas Day avoiding the crowds by staying at the resort. That’s probably what I would do. 🙂  I think I would like the cupcake idea, but I may be alone in that I don’t care for gingerbread. And a gingerbread cupcake makes me go “nope”. LOL! But I would kind of like gingerbread flavoured frosting, as little sense as that may make.

Cotton-headed ninnymuggins? 😀

There is so much to do at Fort Wilderness and I’ve done but a fraction of it! I think I would love to be at Ft Wilderness for Christmas.  I wouldn’t even go to the parks. I would just stay there and hang out.

You guys got an AMAZING number of responses to this question!

DVC members get SUPER Christmas at Disney World. (lol.)  Santa comes to their rooms! XD

I do actually love that idea of having a full kitchen and actually cooking Christmas dinner there. That’s a lovely idea that will never happen for me, but I like the sound of it!

Y’all are too cute. We get to end with a bedtime story.

…This story is getting surprisingly conflicted! Haha!

 

Episode 11: Sorry Folks, Ride’s Closed
Ride closures… That is a LONG closure for Splash Mountain. I’m usually very understanding of closures but that’s so recent after the last long closure. But then again it’s not as if it has stopped breaking down. 😛

I kind of agree that it’s sort of confusing as to how/why the monorail is down.  I mean… it seems really strange to shut down the most famous mode of transportation during the bulk of the day.  I know they HAVE to shut it down to work on it, I get that, it just seems a weird way to do it… middle of the day… I’m sure mid-day is better than morning and evening for sheer volume, just, wow. LOL.

I don’t feel like Barnstormer would set me back on my trip, lol. Though if I were planning on using it to introduce my trip partners to roller coasters (which I did with my daughter on her first trip), I might be disappointed.

I never did see Remy in person. I’d say “I missed him!” but honestly… it’s not that likely I’d have ever seen him even if he’d stayed forever and ever. 🙂  I like the story of him coming home to stay until he finds out there are cats. Then NO.

Pirates is one I would TOTALLY be upset about missing.  I have a hard time being at WDW and not going on Pirates. My daughter didn’t like it much last time either, I mean, she liked it once we were past the mermaid skeleton. That seems to have really troubled her though, even though she also thinks it was kind of cool to see what a mermaid skeleton would look like. LOL.  Always thinkin’, them kids. ;D

Fundamentally I agree with you though, in spite of disappointment over Pirates (which is funny for me to say since I’m not going when it’s closed)… there’s really nothing that NEEDS to be open for you to have a good time at WDW.  If you define your trip by one single experience you need to have, you’re setting yourself up for disappointment. The key is to take every moment and see the magic in it (there is lots)!

“Sorry folks, park’s closed! The moose out front shoulda toldja.”

I love that this is a meme now. I see it everywhere and it’s my new favourite thing. XD

 

Episode 12: We’re Going to Walt Disney World! (I wish.)
We’re up to the soft open of Spice Road Table!  I am dreaming of going here. (I probably won’t make it for at least five years. :P) But oohhh maaaan this food is RIGHT up my alley!

So, I’m one of the people who says that Avatar doesn’t belong in DAK! 🙂 And it’s just… I am sure it’s going to be great. I really am. But I would love to see them do something great without tying into a movie property.  On the plus side, it does seem like the Avatar thing has really… inspired them, so that’s cool!  What I’ll need to judge it by is whether I can go there and enjoy myself without having seen the movie. (Which I don’t plan on doing, really. I’m not a fan of James Cameron.) But if I can do it without feeling like I’m having the movie advertised to me, I will be fine with it, I guess.

I love the off-season, in the winter. I have only been once in January/February but it was terrific! A little on the chilly side at night but totally bearable, especially compared to this year. 😛 What can I say though, I’m really addicted to Disney in the Fall. The best!

I’m with you Keith, all this DVC talk… I just zone right out 😉

Oh, sure, make it sound like they randomly upgrade everyone all the time to deluxe resorts. That has sure never happened to me!  Maybe next trip.

Sean: “Yeah, sometimes people get free stuff, like bed bugs?”
Lovely! 😀

DANG it, Sean. Do you know how much time I spend convincing myself that I don’t want to join DVC because I can’t afford it? And you’re DESTROYING my self-delusion in this episode. DESTROYING.

I’m not a major fiend for getting the ADRs done on the 180-mark… but we rarely go for the popular sit-downs. Next time we go I am going to be trying hard for Be Our Guest so that WILL have me up at 5am trying for that…

I love that Sean keeps liquor in the Owner’s Locker. For some reason this just strikes me as hilarious. I mean it makes sense! But it makes me laugh, too. XD

I think I might be the only person on earth who doesn’t like ponchos and would rather just go ahead and get wet at WDW.  The one time I wore a poncho I did not stay that dry, I was hot, and I had nothing to do with it once it had stopped raining. So I’ve never used them since, haha.
Episode 13: Disney Legend Rolly Crump
Woooo, Rolly Crump!  I have to tell you in advance how dang impressed I am!

Rolly Crump’s statement that he was told he had the worst portfolio of anyone who was ever hired at Disney. Oh gosh. XD

He threw away his original Superman and Batman comic books! Doh.

The more Haunted Mansion stories that can be told, the better. So cool. Amazing. 🙂 I have not read the book by Mr. Crump so that story is entirely new to me. Fabulous!

I feel like a slacker because I don’t have a WHOLE lot to talk about, but you know, this is just really interesting and I can’t talk about it too much without giving things away and having people not listen.  But he talks about things I’d sort of heard about, like Tiki Room being conceptualized as a restaurant and how it ended up not being one, and it’s just fascinating!

Maui Tiki story?

“I didn’t think Walt would look at every sketch. And he did.” This is one of my favourite quotes because it says so much about Walt Disney. Of course he’d look at every single sketch and want to know about them.

The episode’s “post credit” clip cracked me up. XD

 

Episode 14: Travelling with Samantha Brown
Samantha Brown, y’all. These guys are getting famous! Now I feel really famous too for having been on the show with the likes of Rolly Crump and Samantha Brown as guests. 😀

Samantha is a great storyteller; her Airplane Story is wonderful!

And what a great observation about Disney, “protecting” the guests who are there to have fun and not just the film crew for the Travel Channel. Everyone is a VIP.

“When I go down there, I go to work” and she works 14 or 15-hour days. Sheesh! I can’t imagine “working” at Disney. I think I’d love it just the same. Just to be there! But the funny thing is I have dreams all the time that I’m at Disney and I can’t do a doggone thing. 😛

Perfect question: “Everyone thinks you have the perfect job, but with your work schedule you don’t normally get to enjoy the amenities.” So basically what I say above: is it still awesome to be filming at Disney when you are working?  From the sound of it, kinda, a little bit.

Samantha Brown travels with: peanut butter, earbuds, and Pinkie Balls. I want to try the Pinkie Balls.

Samantha’s favourite resort is my favourite resort! #JUSTIFIED

“I always say that what’s great about hotels is that you can ‘date’ them. You don’t have to make a commitment.” 😀

OMG the story about the pandas. Nobody would think about this happening. This story is awesome!

Galaga? Who doesn’t love Galaga? “I’m as rich as Bill Gates when it comes to Galaga!”

The turkey leg counts as a healthy snack? *cracks up*

Hooray for Samantha Brown! Great interview!

 

Episode 15: FastPass, Just Pass, or Standby

Welcome Scott Campbell!  He is indeed a superfan of Enchanted Tiki Talk; and a great choice for guest. 😀

Guys! You snuck in a Mickey Mutineers-style quip about level of pleasure on the ride. LOL!

I’ve Just Passed Dinosaur multiple times now. I’d FP Safari though. I’ve done single rider on Everest and that worked well. Mwahahaha.  I do want to go on Dinosaur, for the record, but like Alan I just prefer the other two.

My answers for HS would depend on who I am traveling with. If I’m by myself, I can probably just skip TSM… buuuut I’m generally not alone so I’d actually have to decide between ToT and RnR. And that’s not easy.

Epcot: Pass The Seas. Paaaassss. LOL. I love the reaction to this though. “Can we skip all three?” “Nope.” “Can we fire the host?” XD

Seriously? You’d take The Seas with Nemo over Imagination?? Naw!  You guys are insane. Nope. It’s not that Imagination is great, it’s just that I haaaaaate the Seas with Nemo.

This is a LENGTHY rant of hatred against Captain EO from Alan. LOL!!

At the Magic Kingdom I match Keith. I think a FP is more needed at Dumbo than at Aladdin.

How do you FP or Standby a resort? “FastPass it means you REALLY want to stay overnight. Standby means you take your time getting there.” LOL I’m not sure how that works. Then again neither is Sean, obviously… ;D

The merits of Dole Whips, Citrus Swirls and Dole Whip Floats are generally discussed. Well, no, not discussed. Nor debated. More like “intricately explained without room for debate” by Alan. This is really Alan’s episode to tell us what it is.

 

Episode 16: The Return of Rolly Crump. (That’s not the actual name of the ep. I just picked that out because that’s how I roll.)
Jump right into the good stuff with a great question: what pranks has Rolly Crump played on/had played on with other Imagineers? 😀

The original concept for an Alice In Wonderland dark ride. Neat!

Smoked herring on lights 😛 This makes sense if you listen.

Rolly Crump took liberties with a cave woman. IT’S TRUE.

I want everyone to listen to this so I’m kind of just tantalizing with topics here. 😉 But the Tiki Talkers have some great questions. REALLY great questions.

Fantastic thoughts on post-Walt’s death. “They didn’t put a creative person in charge” re the parks, etc.

“Don’t they say that nothing’s dead in Imagineering or WED?”
“Ohhhh, they’re wroooong.”
LOL!

His comments about WED and what it’s like today are very, very interesting and very telling.  I wonder how many people would view him as unnecessarily being a downer, when he probably knows what he’s talking about.

AH, they got Rolly Crump to answer the 5 Questions!  Too cool! LOL!  I think he likes Dole Whips.

I will need to read his book.  Very cool stuff. 🙂

 

And that’s it for today… keep coming back and keep tuning into the podcast!

Leave a Reply

