Annie and Danny’s FastPass Podcast: Legacy Style

Thought I’d get a few more episode notes out before the weekend for your reading… listening… I’ll just say viewing. For your viewing pleasure!ย  It makes as much sense as anything else. ๐Ÿ™‚

This is the ADFPPC logo. Pretty swank. ;D

We return once more to the continuing stoooooory of a podcast that’s gone to the… dang. I lost it.ย  I don’t know where I was taking that.

I’m going to preface this to say… “Sass Mouth” means R-rated. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Episode 3:

This is an episode I’ve listened to and greatly enjoyed, and ifย  memory serves, is the first one where Annie gets really distracty. In THIS one she can blame it on alcohol. However it seems to set the precedent for later eps where no alcohol is consumed. I mean, that she mentions anyway…

Annie’s point that some argue that Walt Disney made Snow White to make money is a good one, b/c as she points out, nobody thought this WOULD make money. He was taking a HUGE risk and I don’t think he actually thought he was going to get rich off of it.ย  I’m thinking his entire hope was to just accomplish it, because he knew it would be a great accomplishment, and I think down deep he thought it would be successful – but I really, truly doubt he was thinking of it as “We’re going to be SO RICH” because there just wasn’t anything else to compare that to so there was no reason to assume that they would.

Ah, this ep is the one with the talk of Dan’s dream to travel back in time and put Pinto Colvig into a closet somewhere and claim the role of Goofy for himself. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Annie, for putting him on the spot. XD

Annie: “I would just like to mention, in the list of animators they show at the beginning, I noticed there was a man named ‘Bernard Garbutt’.”
Thanks for that, Annie. ๐Ÿ™‚

Dan: “So you have not seen Lord of the Rings or the new Star Wars movies, but you have seen Chuggington?”
Annie: “NO, I haven’t SEEN Chuggington, I’m just aware of it!”

But she *has* watched “A Talking Cat?” or whatever she referred to earlier, so… YOU decide. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love that Dan bleeps out Annie’s language with a vocal “beep!” noise. Which is put in later, obviously, and that is what makes it funny.

AN INTERMISSION! ๐Ÿ˜€ย  Wow. I feel really relaxed! Aw, I was grooving on that.

OK, I love the discussion on how Annie says “Thank you very much” b/c my daughter uses the hard “th” instead of soft, as Dan points out that Annie did… and she has no idea what he’s talking about… LOL!ย  I also love Annie’s actual “Thank you… VERY much” delivery. It reminds me of a thing from “3rd Rock from the Sun”.

Why are there random bleeps in here? LOL!

Annie, so drunk…

Dan: “There must be two sets of cleaning scenes.”
Annie: “No,ย  you’re just dumb…”

The fact that Dan refers to Once Upon A Time as “questionable”, but also is aware that they address the matter of where dwarves come from, amuses me to no end. XDย  “It’s watchable.” Yeah. That’s kind of how I’d describe it too. ๐Ÿ™‚

“I don’t think I mentioned it, maybe I did, but my mom loves Dopey…” I can’t tell if she sincerely doesn’t remember or if she’s being sarcastic.

Dan has several really great comments about this. “The birds are jerks.” “I get the feeling they all want to murder Doc.”

You know, the talk about how Snow White is kind of dumb for having no sense of self-preservation – I’m sorry, Annie, you were crying while you watched it? AWWWWW! Anyway – this got me thinking, like, do you think maybe Snow White has never ever set a single foot outside of the castle in her life and just no real world schema whatsoever that she can relate to?

So it’s like, she gets a crazy case of whatever the opposite of claustrophobia is, she runs until she finds a house, and she has NO concept of the fact that you don’t just go into random houses without being invited.ย  Then, since her stepmother has been making her clean all her life it makes sense to her to clean up this place since that’s like, her job… But other than that she’s just total sunshine.ย  Maybe the way she talks to the dwarfs is how her nannies always talked to her growing up so she thinks that’s how people interact.ย  I mean… maybe Snow White just has absolutely the WORST socialization of any Disney princess EVER and she just doesn’t know better.

Having said all that I think she’s adorable, little miss sunshine. Awwww. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Episode 22:
Omelette du fromage, mon petit ami!ย  Annie is genuinely going for an entire episode in French, and made it about a minute.

Wes and Dan’s Bird Podcast has a really hardcore manly theme song.

Dan: Why is Mater more popular than Lightning McQueen?
Annie: ‘Cause he’s the only funny, interesting one.
Dan: You think he’s funny and/or interesting?

Dan actually says “and/or” out loud. I love it when people do that. XDย  I also love the implication of disagreement inherent in that question.

No, there is something weird about Miss Piggy bacon cupcakes.

Ahhh, the discussion I’ve been waiting for: blunt opinions about Saving Private Banks. (Yes I know, that was intentional.) I have a feeling I will agree with at least one of you, but that’s unfair of me, because I have not seen the movie. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Emma Thompson, and BJ Novak/Jason Schwartzman – the reasons I DO want to see it. Tom Hanks – among the several reasons I don’t.ย  I LOVE Tom Hanks, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t want to see him as Walt Disney.

Dan’s mention of the Grantland review/perspective is kind of dead-on. My father, btw, grew up on Mary Poppins stories and when he saw the movie (as a child) he felt it was fundamentally WRONG to have Mary Poppins pretty, singing, warm and caring and only slightly standoffish.

I have read the first book, btw, to my daughter last year.ย  It’s bizarre and wonderful, and Poppins is utterly different. Everyone loves her and she loves no one. It’s… strange but I loved it, but my husband did not. LOL.

Now, ultimately, I think that the Disney movie is FANTASTIC. I love Walt Disney’s take on the story and I think the decisions he made on it were terrific.ย  I think it works as a movie in a way the book would not. HOWEVER… it’s the way this movie presents it that troubles me.ย  Disney and his magic overcome cranky old PL Travers.ย  I mean, it’s… it’s very self-congratulatory of the Walt Disney Company and I think that’s the thing that leaves a sour taste in my mouth.ย  It mythologizes the reality of Walt Disney, of his company, his productions, etc etc etc.

Again though, haven’t seen the movie, goin’ by the trailer, TOTALLY not fair of me. ๐Ÿ™‚

So Okay! Disney Dummies. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Annie’s vocal delivery of this story is perfect.

In this mother-daughter conversation about smokers, if the daughter is like 5 years old, I can vouch that kids will just say this kind of thing, legitimately. Somehow I have this image of a 9-year-old or something though. XDย  And as the parent I’d have been all “Shhhhh! Honey, they can hear you!” XDย  Because I’m a coward that way.

I kind of liked Dino-Rama. Did it for the first time this past trip. If I had been by myself and not with a 7-year-old, though, probably would have skipped it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I love the Indiana Jones Stunt Spectacular, but as with many things that I love, I still can say, needs something fresh.ย  So I agree, update or replace with a new show!ย  And not a car show, please…

 

Episode 4:
This is officially the last of the first episodes that I listened to, I’m pretty sure.ย  At least I’m making some headway (but not really, only 2 eps a week?ย  We’re going to be doing this for another 15 weeks.)

I am jammin’ to the World of Colour song!

Dan’s definition of “Best” is everyone else’s definition of “Best”, except substitute themselves in for him when talking about whose fave it is.

LOL Annie’s mother is mad at Dan for not liking Dopey. XD

Annie is really scared that people won’t realize she’s always kidding, and will think that she is just really dumb. Hahahaha, I don’t know why I find that so hilarious. XD

Dan wants to join a Disneyland “Social club” aka Gang.
Annie: “I don’t think you’re cool enough.”
Dan: “How dare you.”

So the Yeti is unfixable on Expedition Everest?ย  I guess since I never saw it when it worked right, I’m not missing it that much. We liked it. Y’know the first time I went on it I totally didn’t actually see the Yeti at the end. XD The second time I was like “HOLY GOD! WHOA!”ย  It was hilarious. XDย  But I didn’t say “Aah! The Yeti!”

This scuba diver fantasy is alarming. Came out of nowhere. XDย  “50 Shades of Nemo”, ugh, NO XD

Dreamfinder is a creepy dude but… I love him. Maybe b/c I’ve heard interviews with the guy who played him in the parks and he’s hilarious.

Annie: “What about science?…ience…?”
Dan: “Yeah, exactly… that’s a weird thing you just said.”

I am POSITIVE that nobody would miss Iago and Zazu if they were taken out. I mean, you’re right, if they took them out and made the attraction just birds without there being a history, nobody would love it, but they wouldn’t do that. But if they JUST took out Iago and Zazu I bet nobody would cry.

I actually didn’t care at all about Alien Encounter. I went on it once and didn’t actually remember having done so. I mean, I didn’t dislike it (I don’t think), I just don’t remember it. But Stitch, c’mon… really? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I’m all about failing to finish blogging projects. ALL about it!

You know what’s the best part of the Twilight Zone theme? Them bongoes. ๐Ÿ˜€

Episode 23:
Welcome to another episode of Annie and Danny’s Legacy FastPass Podcast. That’s a really long name.ย  Oooh, All-Dan, All The Time!

Annie seems to have confused dead birds with Disney.

Creature Comforts in DAK becoming a new restaurant. I don’t know where that is, so I won’t miss it… I have a feeling you’re right about the Starbucks speculation.

And now I have heard little kids singing “Let It Go”. I hadn’t bothered with any of the videos but now I kind of feel like I’ve lived it all. Hahaha. XD

Annie knows fully well what a “glory hole” is. Nice feigning of innocence, but I’m not buying it. Though I am very amused by the supposedly-fired janitor.

The “Andy’s coming!” rumour drives me nuts. Because it’s like, way to kill something that was hidden and a little fun. ๐Ÿ˜›

This story about the bus driver who likes to give incorrect trivia amuses me. Is this intentional? Is he deliberately giving misinformation? I wonder if CMs make a game of this?

OMG, the worst Space Mountain story I’ve ever heard! XD

I DECLARE YOU DEAD.ย  Yeah!

Okay, someone needs to explain to me if there is a way to find, rate and review podcasts on iTunes without actually downloading them or having an account. Because the having an account part is not going to happen for me (don’t ask why) but I want to support my faves over there. Is it possible? Pls comment if it is, and let me know how! Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

Episode 5:
Annie is apparently geniunely excited by Dan reporting live on location from Disneyland. There is something so cute about that.

Dan: “The Interwebs are EVERYWHERE!”
I don’t know why but that REALLY makes me laugh. XD

Dan is at the Del Sol Inn, and throws his enthusiasm in its general direction. ๐Ÿ˜€

It’s funny to go back to earlier episodes when they bothered to bleep out Annie’s potty mouth.

Dan is really “on” with this episode.ย  Yeah, broth!ย  Noodles in broth!ย  Anyway… YAY, Disneyland at Halloween time!ย  I want to go back, both to WDW and to Halloween. ๐Ÿ™‚

I went to WDW for my birthday but it was in May 2008, before they started the “Free admission” thing. ๐Ÿ˜ฆย  So no free gifts for me! But I did get a lot of happy birthdays and cool stuff like that. ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh I wish I’d known about the failed scavenger hunt. I could have said “Ooh, I have no ideas, but that sounds great!” if I had known. (Kind of useless over here:)

HOW do you melt Crocs to the sidewalk?!ย  While wearing them??

This scavenger hunt is pretty awesome. I want one custom-made. OH. How interested do you think people would be in getting these made for them? LOL!

Bwahahaha the Jedi Training Academy one. XD “Say, man, can I sign up for this? Is there like an adult one I could then?”

This is the best part, okay? This is the best: They’re discussing what noise should be the bleep noise and Annie says it should be Donald Duck making that temper tantrum noise he makes. Which turns into impressions of Donald, which then leads to this like quacking noise.

Dan: “That was an actual duck, though, that wasn’t Donald.”
Annie: “Where did that come from?!”
Dan: “I don’t know, it was me.”

I DON’T KNOW, IT WAS ME. XD

And then there’s like 20 seconds of Annie doing her Donald impression over and over. Gahahaha.

Some strong opinions about small world up in here.

YES! Best use of Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure in any podcast, EVER!

“I want to drink vicariously through other people being reDONKulous on Tweeter.” And she didn’t mean to say Tweeter, that’s why it’s funny XD

Dan: master of impressions. I couldn’t even tell that was him and not Annie at the end there. ๐Ÿ˜›

Follow @beefydisney and @djphob on Twitter! Plus there is also @FastPassPodcast, where you can keep up with the whole show.

Have a magical day! ๐Ÿ˜€

2 thoughts on “Annie and Danny’s FastPass Podcast: Legacy Style

  1. I am far more amused by these than I am with actually recording the episodes. I mean.. I REALLY enjoy this.

    – Crocs will melt to cement in sweltering Hilton Head at the peak of Summer. Just trust me on that.

    – I will tell you that the scavenger hunt was so much fun, and I bet veteran visitors who wanna mix it up a bit would definitely sign up for such things.

    Dan

    • I’m working on the theory that people really, really enjoy hearing or reading other people enjoying stuff they’ve done. Gives a new appreciation of their own work. Myself, I just really like to talk about things as I experience them – I’m big on live-tweeting and things like that, too. So running commentary on stuff is like my hobby. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So it’s win-win, though the audience is probably a little limited… but not TOO limited, since I happen to know that occasionally my doing this gets people interested and they start listening. ๐Ÿ˜€ Win-win-win! ;D

      I’ll take your word for it about the Crocs. Just one more reason for me to never buy them I guess. XD

      I’m going to have to brainstorm on a good way to work out a scavenger hunt. Like, if I do one, would I make it publicly available? Should I make it a group thing, report back to me with your scores and I’ll post them? This could get interesting… or just be another semi-abandoned idea I had that was potentially kinda cool.

Leave a Reply

