Adventures in (Evil) Baking – Pt I

This weekend, the kids and I were out on an extended shopping trip, and on our way home we passed a toy store that was going out of business and the signs were advertising “Entire Store 80% Off!”  Well, you know what that means: NOTHING is left. LOL. But I had to check it out anyway, because that’s a pretty sweet deal. The kids each found a couple of trinkets that rang in at under $1.50 with the final price cut; and I wandered around to see what they had and came across a “baking kit” section.

I had no idea that they sold baking craft kits at toy stores. Aside from the part where I was vaguely uncertain about the quality of the food involved, I was intrigued to find that all of the kits were Halloween-themed (but not too old – all were “best by” 2015 dates), and then to realize that more than half of what was left was from a Disney Villain brand!  Realizing that each kit would be under $4 each, I HAD to grab what I could.  We ended up with a Cruella DeVil mini cupcake kit, 2 Villains Cupcake kits, and an Evil Queen Cake Pop kit. (Oh and a Crayola “Candy Corn” cookie kit, but that’s not Disney, thus we will not be blogging on it.)  I put two aside to use as giveaway prizes if they worked out well – ie, if they were edible and worked the way the directions said – and then we got started on the cake pops first.

Aaaand because I knew this would be fascinating to people other than just me, I documented the ENTIRE event so that I could blog about it with you! 😀

Let's get this party starteeeed!

Let’s get this party starteeeed!

This is the back of the box.

This is the back of the box.

I opened up the box and went through the contents this morning just to make sure everything was there. (ALWAYS make sure everything is there.)  Anyway it was all present and accounted for, so I did the logical thing and took more photos to prove it.

The contents of the box - Thomas the Tank Engine cup and messy dining room table are not included

The contents of the box – Thomas the Tank Engine cup and messy dining room table are not included

These are the packets of powdered frosting. MMM, sounds yummy!

These are the packets of powdered frosting. MMM, sounds yummy!

Cake mix (contains wheat, if you missed that) and the red candy wafers that are used for the coating.

Cake mix (contains wheat, if you missed that) and the red candy wafers that are used for the coating.

And this baby is actually the spot where you stand your cake pops after they're done.

Note: finished product will taste nothing like apples.

After lunch, we got started on the cake portion of the recipe.  With an almost-8-year-old and a 4 1/2 year old, dividing up the duties gets tricky. So it becomes a sort of dance of alternating steps.  My daughter got to zap the margerine in the microwave to melt it, while my son got to dump the cake mix into the bowl. Then daughter breaks the egg into it, son does the water, and I pour in the melted margarine (side note: recipe called for butter; this may be part of why the cake was so breaky in the end? Oooops, spoilers!).  Then everyone takes turns mixing and it goes into the pan, and into the oven.

The mix has little dried chunks of apple in it. So those lumps are apple, not just lumps, which I found out after I tried to beat them into submission.

The mix has little dried chunks of apple in it. So those lumps are apple, not just lumps, which I found out after I tried to beat them into submission.

Here is the finished cake! As you can see there's not THAT much of it but that is fine since it won't look like this for long.

Here is the finished cake! As you can see there’s not THAT much of it but that is fine since it won’t look like this for long.

After the cake is done it cools. They suggest putting it into the refrigerator, and hey, I’m all for shortcuts so into the fridge it went. 🙂  At this point the kids had gone out sledding, so once they got back, we moved on to step 2, making the frosting.  This is another part where the recipe called for butter and I used margerine, and this time, I’m SURE that counted against me.  Also the amount of frosting made in this recipe was ridiculous compared to the amount needed.  Also it did not taste like caramel. It had a smell kind of like popcorn butter. But I guess when your frosting comes out of a tiny packet, it’s not going to be perfect.

My daughter and I whipped up the margarine, and then my son got to put the frosting powder into the bowl.

This boy had just gone sledding and been smacked with some mighty fine snowballs, apparently.  He is also dubious of the powdered frosting.

This boy had just gone sledding and been smacked with some mighty fine snowballs, apparently. He is also dubious of the powdered frosting.

And THIS is appetizing, yes?  Then we add powdered sugar, and...

And THIS is appetizing, yes? Then we add powdered sugar, and…

Voila! Actually, when completely mixed, it looks kind of good. I thought it tasted funny  but the kids were fine with it. (Really? They liked something that was 85% powdered sugar? How ODD!)  Later though, it separated and got very runny.

Voila! Actually, when completely mixed, it looks kind of good. I thought it tasted funny but the kids were fine with it. (Really? They liked something that was 85% powdered sugar? How ODD!) Later though, it separated and got very runny.

There is a full cup of confectioner’s sugar in that there frosting, folks. And it still tastes like popcorn butter. I’ll pass, thanks.

So next!  After this the kids got to crumble up the cake. This was a definite favourite part. They each took 1/4 of it at a time and just squished it with their well-washed hands, into tiny crummy pieces!

Because who doesn't like destroying cake? Deny it and I will call you a liar. :)

Because who doesn’t like destroying cake? Deny it and I will call you a liar. 🙂

 

Next, we put half of the frosting into this bowl and mixed until it all clumped together!  If you’re one of the people who hates the word “moist”, you’re not going to like what I say here. 🙂 “Half” of the frosting is really a random amount. I have no idea how much frosting we had.  So I just put in enough to make the cake crumbs moist enough to stick together in a ball.  In retrospect I think perhaps I should have used more, but oh well.

The kit comes with a piping bag so that you can use the rest of the frosting later. The kids enjoyed spooning the frosting into the bag, but all in all, I don’t think the final frosting touch is needed; my advice would be to discard whatever you don’t need in the cake mixing part.

Well, at this point we were finally ready to shape the cake into balls.  There were supposed to be 20, so I separated and separated again and then pulled off chunks and let the kids roll them up.  Then we put them all onto a plate lined with plastic wrap, and I stuck them into the freezer.

Lookin' like meatballs. But they're not!

Lookin’ like meatballs. But they’re not!

 

In the interest of not having a post that goes on and on forever, I’m going to cut this off here and finish the rest up this afternoon or tonight! 🙂  See you then!

 

7 thoughts on “Adventures in (Evil) Baking – Pt I

  1. Oh, cake pops. We have a rather tumultuous relationship, they and I. When I make them, they usually just turn into cake balls because I am a) too cheap to go buy lollipop sticks, and b) candy coating and I are mortal enemies. I can’t wait to see how yours turn out… hopefully better than any of mine ever do! 🙂

    • Bwahaha! I love this comment. XD Luckily for us, ALL those ingredients were included in the kit. Thank goodness! I would not be up for gathering all the requirements on my own, which is probably a big part of why I have never made them before. 🙂 Cake balls sound good though… LOL!

  2. Pingback: Adventures in (Evil) Baking – Pt II | Disney With Me

Leave a Reply

