Disney Dream Girls

What, ANOTHER podcast report? You’re saying. (Don’t deny it!)

Well, I’m trying to catch up on all the great Disney podcasts out there. I never will, but I’m having fun making the effort!

Disney Dream Girls is a relatively new entry into the market and as such I was able to catch up in only one week! Can you believe that? It’s like it’s not really me over here. πŸ˜€Β  I did take notes, because it’s only fair to take notes doggone it. πŸ™‚

This Facebook Profile picture is (c) by Simon Phipps, created exclusively for Disney Dream Girls, and is used here without permission but as an ad for DDG so I hope it's OK. :)

This Facebook Profile picture is (c) by Simon Phipps, created exclusively for Disney Dream Girls, and is used here without permission but as an ad for DDG so I hope it’s OK. πŸ™‚

I was a listener of Minnie Minxes during the first part of 2013, but as with many many other podcasts, I lost track and got way behind.Β  As it turns out, the ladies behind the Minxes have started over with a new podcast, Disney Dream Girls, and HEY! I can get up to speed on this one, right? πŸ™‚

The only problem is I have this nagging feeling I’m not starting at the beginning. πŸ˜‰Β  But that’s OK, it’s not as if there is a continuing storyline, right?

Goodness, though, I do love their accents. Wow. πŸ™‚

Episode 1: Michelle had lunch with an Imagineer!Β  This is a really great topic because I have wondered what this would be like.Β  Apparently they have to have specific training because they are NOT allowed to give away any secret information.Β  They can only talk about things that are currently known.Β  Makes sense!Β  I guess it’s a lunch, not an interview. πŸ˜‰

Michelle had lunch with Pam Rollins, an Imagineer she has heard of, which was a nice coincidence!Β  The lunch has a specific menu. I like all these details.Β  The salad was “basically everything in the fridge chopped up”, lol!Β  Yeah, Cobb Salad. πŸ˜€Β  Oooh and they got a card with the Cobb Salad recipe!

They offer this at The Brown Derby or at the Flying Fish… I think I’d take the Derby, personally πŸ™‚ But well… crispy tempura… you’ve kind of got me with that one. πŸ˜‰

Extra special things you can book at Disney – Characters in Flight… this is on my list of things I gotta do someday. My daughter really wants to but I’m not sure if we won’t get up there and she’ll get terrified… so we’re holding off for now.

Also a bit of details on Wild Africa Trek at Animal Kingdom.Β  Interesting detail: You have to be weighed when you check in to make sure that the tethering is done properly.Β  This did not occur to me!

Wow – you get a documentary CD of your tour afterwards!Β  Now I want to do this. Bucket List! πŸ˜€

I am now incredibly hungry listening to the restaurant recommendations. CLAMBAKE. ❀

Jayne is renowned in the community for her Disney Bling so she is the one to go to for high-end gift recommendations. I will keep this in mind. πŸ™‚

Episode 2: I finally figured out who I am reminded of whenever I hear Michelle’s voice!Β  But I can’t recall her name. Jane someone. She was Bubble on “Absolutely Fabulous” and one of the hens in “Chicken Run”. I don’t mean that in an unflattering way; that lady has a lovely voice, and also, I believe her accent is the same.

So this week’s podcast takes the idea of having all your meals in the Magic Kingdom, on a Dining Plan. Can you feed your family completely on the Dining Plan without spending any extra money? Jayne has the Quick Service Dining Plan and Michelle has the standard DP.

Ice cream for breakfast!Β  I’m with you, Michelle! πŸ˜€

I am learning something today. I didn’t realize that items over $4 could be on the snack credit!

Also I don’t like funnel cake either. It gives me a stomach ache. πŸ˜›

A nice rundown of New Fantasyland, which I need at least one more day to fully explore, so this is also appreciated even though I have already technically been there.Β  SO much I didn’t get to see!

LOL Prince Eric’s New Year Resolution. Woohoo! Can’t be good ALL the time!

Really? Ariel doesn’t sign autographs at Epcot?Β  We saw her at Akershus (as a human), and we got her autograph… though that was in 2011!

Episode #3: A great description of Storybook Circus, including some of the background details – we noticed the animal footprints (though I had forgotten them – thanks for reminding me!) but I don’t recall seeing the peanut shells!Β  I also did not notice the numbers which correspond to the opening dates of each park… I love the hidden, subtle details that Imagineers hide in their creations!

Re: Diaper-changing in line… what is WRONG with people?! πŸ˜›

I didn’t spend a whole lot of time in the shop, must say. The sugary smell kind of… drove me out, lol. I can’t take smells that sweet for some reason!

We loved the Great Goofini and the Astounding Donaldo! Skipped Daisy and Minnie I’m afraid… We didn’t want to spend our ENTIRE day at Storybook Circus, especially since we’d spent like 20-30 minutes running around in the play area at Dumbo πŸ™‚ Which was great btw!Β  My daughter is 7 and she adored it. πŸ˜€Β  With your review now I think I’m going to make a point to see Minnie Magnifique next time!

Pardon me for saying this but I just find Michelle and Jayne so charming. πŸ˜€ Just had to say it!

A special intermission informs me that Kieran had a great Christmas present this year.Β  I cannot wait until I can give one of those for Christmas. ^_^

Hooray! The lovely Lisa Green!Β  Like Lisa I got into Disney just after getting married… we went for our second anniversary. πŸ™‚ Sadly my husband never got the same bug bite as me… lol πŸ˜‰

May I say that if Lisa’s take on Maleficent is true, I will be MUCH more interested in seeing it! Maleficent is my favourite villain, and I honestly don’t actually want to see her be sympathetically portrayed, for whatever reason. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE relatable villains! But I’ve never seen Maleficent that way. πŸ˜‰

Keep checking on the ADRs for Be Our Guest though! Things can open up with cancellations πŸ™‚

OOOOH… Snow White up and running by the end of May?Β  I LOVE hearing this news! πŸ˜€

So that’s it for now, as there are only 3 episodes so far, but I believe the next one is coming out next week!Β  Do yourselves a favour and sign on to DDG early! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

