Trip Report 2013: Day 1, Part 2 – South of the Border!

Here’s the second half of our “travel day” going to WDW.  This was still Monday, 9/30.

So we stopped at South of the Border, just over the border in South Carolina – this was approximately our halfway point and we got there right around 1pm or so. We ate lunch (sandwiches my husband had made us; D finished hers and this was almost the only time all trip that she did), gassed up the car, and walked around. I was dismayed that they do not sell any kinds of sodas except Pepsi products, because I am a Diet Coke gal. WHY DO PLACES DO THIS?!

But we walked around and entertained ourselves with photo opportunities. One thing about D is that she loves to climb on things. If there is something nearby that she can climb on, it’s like she has an uncontrollable need to get up on it. I was constantly pulling her down off of lampposts the entire trip. But the giant animals were fine to climb on, and she was all over them.

I love how she really should clash, but she kind of doesn't.

I love how she really should clash, but she kind of doesn’t.

Why who's that hot mamma? :P Actually this is a REALLY good pic of me as they go. Take from that what you will.

Why who’s that hot mamma? 😛 Actually this is a REALLY good pic of me as they go. Take from that what you will.

OH NOES!!!!

OH NOES!!!!

OH NOES AGAIN!!!!

OH NOES AGAIN!!!!

LOL flamingo.

LOL flamingo.

And then she's like "I'll just ride this gator to Disney."

And then she’s like “I’ll just ride this gator to Disney.”

D wore her Magic Band the entire time, from the moment I showed it to her. Even though we wouldn't use it for two days.

D wore her Magic Band the entire time, from the moment I showed it to her. Even though we wouldn’t use it for two days.

OK so there was some trouble getting up onto this dino...

OK so there was some trouble getting up onto this dino…

Tried walking up the tail...

Tried walking up the tail…

Then climbing up with more arms but it just wasn't happening.

Then climbing up with more arms but it just wasn’t happening.

In the end I did have to lift her up...

In the end I did have to lift her up…

And then we were fine. :D

And then we were fine. 😀

She also loves to name things and claim them as her pets, as seen in this movie.

Then we kept on walking around a bit more.  We didn’t touch on NEARLY everything that is at SotB… we don’t do any of the attractions b/c we want to get back on the road (it’s five hours to get there for us, and another 6-7 more to get to WDW).  But we do look at the stuff outside!

The best part is that as I recall, this face she's making is coincidental.

The best part is that as I recall, this face she’s making is coincidental.

Small girl, big cactus.

Small girl, big cactus.

"OH! This MUST be Chewandswallow!" said D at the sight of this restaurant.

“OH! This MUST be Chewandswallow!” said D at the sight of this restaurant.

Look at that sky!

Look at that sky!

We love Canada, y'see.

We love Canada, y’see.

Even when Canada has broken antlers, we loves it, precious. <3

Even when Canada has broken antlers, we loves it, precious. ❤

I could not get up on the dinosaurs easily, either.

I could not get up on the dinosaurs easily, either.

D found a Jackalope. With a  saddle and everything!

D found a Jackalope. With a saddle and everything!

"I'll ride this lion to Disney!" she said, and then I pointed out that the lion's feet are buried in the dirt so I don't think he's going anywhere.

“I’ll ride this lion to Disney!” she said, and then I pointed out that the lion’s feet are buried in the dirt so I don’t think he’s going anywhere.

Hanging on for dear life!

Hanging on for dear life!

Sometimes you just can't ride on everything.

Sometimes you just can’t ride on everything.

D loves giraffes.  See what you miss when you don't stop at SotB?

D loves giraffes. See what you miss when you don’t stop at SotB?

She had names for each one, based on their colours.

She had names for each one, based on their colours.

Now I finally got her into posing!

Now I finally got her into posing!

This is why I say you’ve got to stop here. It’s not nearly as good as Disney but it’s a fun diversion. We always have a good time. 🙂 Actually we stayed for about an hour, which I kind of regretted afterwards, but oh well. It was a fun time. 🙂 They have a bajillion hats! Have I mentioned I LOVE hats?

My favourite cowgirl!

My favourite cowgirl!

Queen R!  I'm telling ya!

Queen R! I’m telling ya!

This is b/c I told her that she looked bored in her last photo. ;)

This is b/c I told her that she looked bored in her last photo. 😉

Me trying to look interesting. XD

Me trying to look interesting. 😄

Slightly drunk looking perhaps.

Slightly drunk looking perhaps.

Sombrero!

Sombrero!

and this is just kind of... Wonderland?

and this is just kind of… Wonderland?

D loves maracas!

D loves maracas!

Then I found this completely awesome hat and was like "D!! LOOK AT THIS!" but she was gone so it was mirror-time again. :P

Then I found this completely awesome hat and was like “D!! LOOK AT THIS!” but she was gone so it was mirror-time again. 😛

D is the family dinosaur expert, which inspired an argument between us as to what kind of dino this was. I said Velociraptor and she said T-Rex.

D is the family dinosaur expert, which inspired an argument between us as to what kind of dino this was. I said Velociraptor and she said T-Rex.

They had this area with like four coin-operated cars. D had to sit in all four even though we didn't actually ride any.

They had this area with like four coin-operated cars. D had to sit in all four even though we didn’t actually ride any.

Anyhow, we were back on the road around 2pm, and we stopped once more towards the end of SC, then again for dinner at the bottom of Georgia. At this point things got crazy because I kept having trouble finding a place to eat. I decided on a Cracker Barrel, but when I got off at the exit, I couldn’t find it. It turned out to be off the main road behind a hotel or something, but I felt like it was too complicated to get there, so we got back onto I-95. I resumed driving, and perhaps 10 miles later we picked out a Denny’s and I exited again. This time I managed to accidentally pass the Denny’s because I was supposed to go straight off at the exit instead of turning. I figured that was OK since there were other options this time. I saw a sign for Shoney’s and went towards that, only to find out it was closed. Then I saw another Cracker Barrel but it was, again, tough to get into. So I finally just made a U-turn and managed to get into Denny’s.

I know, I know: what was the point of that story? 🙂 I guess just to illustrate how easily I can get turned around sometimes, when I’m faced with a few too many choices and no single, straightforward option. Well, Denny’s was just fine; I had a chicken fingers platter, and D had chicken nuggets. Shaped like stars. 🙂

I kind of want to eat that right now.

I kind of want to eat that right now.

She initially was after the macaroni and cheese, but I promised she’d have plenty of that at WDW. She liked the chicken nuggets, in the end.

Well, we listened to a lot of music – most of it Disney, with a few other options tossed in (like Dean Martin and Michael Jackson, because I have weirdly eclectic tastes) – and talked a lot, and played our favourite car games of 20 Questions and the Disney ABC game, where you have to name characters whose names start with each letter of the alphabet. We have an ongoing confusion as to whether anyone’s name starts with a V. Is there a Victor in the Disney canon anywhere? The other problem with this game is that it’s easy to get stuck on particular characters, like B is always either Baloo or Boo, and Y is always Yzma. And I is always Ichabod Crane. I honestly can’t remember if anyone else’s name starts with I at all. This is what the internet is for, yet I have yet to look this up.

Anyway, by this point it was dark, and for some reason when I drive in the dark I’m not capable of driving above the speed limit, so it took us a little while to do the final leg of the journey. Our hotel was in Jacksonville, near the airport, and it took another 30-45 minutes or so to get there. It had started raining off and on but not heavily, and we got to the hotel in good time. We never actually saw it in the light, though, so I can’t tell you what it looked like! It had some kind of pond but that was all I could see. The room was TINY. Barely enough room for the one bed in it. We got in and I called home to check in while D wrote in her travel journal (this was the first, and last time she did so) about the day. Then I took a shower while D watched TV: “Teen Beach Movie” on the Disney Channel. I can tell you one thing: the little bit of it that I saw had the most incomprehensible plot EVER. 😄 D seemed entertained by it. Of course it’s like 9:30 and she’s showing no sign of being tired, because once she reaches that point of sleepiness she is suddenly past sleepy and straight into wired. After I got out of the shower I loaded my pictures onto the computer – I had planned to do this at least every couple of days to keep space on the camera – and checked in on Facebook.

We both had a really rough time sleeping. The air conditioner cut off and on every few minutes all night and it woke me each time, plus D is a messy sleeper. By which I mean she flails. A lot. She always has. She was hot and flipped over every few minutes, and I think it was after 11pm before I finally fell asleep – after she did, at least.

Day 2 coming up soon! Things actually get more exciting at that point. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Trip Report 2013: Day 1, Part 2 – South of the Border!

  1. Holy cow- I can hardly handle how adorable D is… and what an imagination! I go to school in the foothills of North Carolina and I’ve heard of South of the Border, but never visited. It seems like it could be a fun little day trip to get away from studying at whatnot! Loving the trip reports! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! You know the best way to make friends with a parent. 😉

      I went to school in NC too, but I came from the north and never came anywhere near South of the Border while driving down. So, not a thing except on Disney trips! It probably would be a fun day trip, especially if you only have to drive 2-3 hours to get there. More than that, and I’m not all that sure it would be worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

