Vlog Post: Somebody Got MagicBands!

Well hi there! First of all, please excuse the lack of updates the past two weeks. My office department has two people out on extended vacations at the same time AND we got a “special project” so it’s been just a big happy jumble of overtime. Honestly I’m not sure I even remember who I am right now! 😀

Anyhow though, in between all of that I’m still going to Disney World… next week, in fact… in four days in fact. (Tiny yay in the background!) And, because I’m doing a single night at Animal Kingdom Lodge, on points donated to me by a friend who is a DVC member, I actually ended up being selected to test the MagicBands that Disney World is planning on rolling out sometime in the next few months. It seems as if nearly everyone staying on site this coming month gets to try these, but hey, for those of you who don’t hang out on Twitter with people who go to Disney World on like a weekly basis, this is a much rarer opportunity!

Anyway. So I haven’t had time to blog about them or anything (although this post at My Disney Addiction does a better job than I could anyway), but I will go over the whole experience when I have time.  I DID, however, have time late the other night to record a vlog of me… well, talking about them a lot and kind of holding the up for you to see, in really bad lighting and bad quality.  Yaaaay!

In all seriousness, it is at least slightly informative. If nothing else you’ll learn that I have trouble fitting them on my wrist and the plastic is more solid than I thought it would be. 🙂

But mostly, you should watch it because the camera just loves me!  Obviously. 😛

I promise that I will post about my experience setting up my FastPass+ reservations, and my experience editing them the next day (and possibly my experience editing them again if I go that route… because yes, you can edit them as needed), and also my experience with how the bands work. But it won’t be for a while, because I have crazy overtime, then crazy packing, then MAH VACATION and nobody’s taking that away from me! 😀

3 thoughts on “Vlog Post: Somebody Got MagicBands!

  1. Thanks for the video, Rebecca! I was picturing the MagicBands as softer and more rubbery, so it’s good to know what we’ll be getting into if/when we eventually use them. Being claustrophobic, I don’t like to have anything tight around any part of me (even my wrists), so I guess I’ll be going with the loose look. Have a great trip!!

    • that’s exactly how I pictured them – more like the rubber “support” bracelets, you know, like the “Livestrong” ones. Which doesn’t make sense when I think about it, but that’s totally how I was thinking of them. 🙂

      I’m sort of claustrophobic about that kind of thing too, but like I said in the video (I was all over the place), I really get annoyed with things sliding around. So I’m going to have to fiddle with it to find a way to keep it on and not moving, but not feeling like it’s gripping me. The problem is, since I’m hiding them from my daughter, I haven’t had a chance to do this yet… but I’ll let everyone know if I can reach a comfy medium.

      Thanks for the comment! I’m glad my aimless almost-midnight chatter was good for something. 😀

      • I’ll be interested to hear what that “comfy medium” is once you get a chance to wear it more. That’s so cool that you’re surprising your daughter! I’ve always wanted to do a “get-in-the-car-we’re-going-to-Disney” moment with my 3 boys, but I can never hold out that long. The closest I’ve made it was telling them 2 weeks pre-trip. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

