Disney Cover CD Review: Kenny Ball

Trumpeter, vocalist and front man, Kenny Ball. Image (c) Solihull Arts Complex, solihullartscomplex.co.uk

Trumpeter, vocalist and front man, Kenny Ball. Image (c) Solihull Arts Complex, solihullartscomplex.co.uk

I’m often on the lookout for different Disney music, especially cover albums. I love covers of pre-existing songs – there’s something really neat about hearing an old favourite being remade in a new way. And with Disney music there are so many old favourites and so many great new spins on them!

Not to say I automatically love anything; I tend not to like anything autotuned, for example. It’s glaring even when it’s kind of subtle, and it’s an instant turnoff for me, so a lot of the pop covers are out. (There are a few times when I can put up with it if I like the song enough.)

Also, not a major fan of Marilyn Manson’s cover of “This Is Halloween”. Just sayin’. (Although this one year on Halloween a radio station played it and I did kind of have to listen and sing along a little bit b/c it was on Halloween and I was desperate for ANYthing on the radio; but I was relieved when it was followed by Rob Zombie’s “Dragula”, a much more worthy song, IMO. BUT I DIGRESS.)

Well, while listening one day to some streaming Disney station or other (I listen to so many that I can’t be sure which one it was – this was 2 years ago), a really neat, slightly Dixieland style cover of “Under The Sea” came on. It was like a neat mix of the music from my two favourite Disney movies, “The Little Mermaid” and “Princess and the Frog”, so I looked up info.

Turns out it was a cover by Kenny Ball and His Jazzmen, from an album called – wait for it – Kenny Ball and His Jazzmen In Disneyland. This was just before my birthday so I immediately emailed my husband and said “Buy me this!”

And he did. 🙂

I am reasonably sure that is not actually Disneyland behind him. Image (C) Kenny Ball and his Jazzmen/? Can't find info as to the recording house.

I am reasonably sure that is not actually Disneyland behind him. Image (C) Kenny Ball and his Jazzmen/? Can’t find info as to the recording house.

You can get it various places – it’s an import, and somewhat hard to find off the internet, but it is available on Amazon. (Hey. If you shop at Amazon, go to MickeyMutineers.com and click their Amazon banner to do your shopping. Just saying.) It came out in 1999 or so and thus it doesn’t have most of the recent movies, but the Little Mermaid and Aladdin tracks are just as great as their version of songs from The Jungle Book and Snow White!

Not every single track on it is perfect – I can skip “Everybody Wants to Be A Cat” and “My Romance”, and I actually don’t care for “Circle of Life” due to the buzziness of the trumpet. But most of the songs are better and a few are worth the entire album on their own. This is great for when I’ve listened to every Disney song in its original form five or six times over and need something a little different. Look up Kenny Ball and His Jazzmen where you can, and let me know if you enjoy as much as I do!

If you have a favourite Disney cover album, leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

