A World of Character Meet and Greets

Before we went to WDW, I was a little worried my daughter might be scared of all the characters I’d told her of so many times. She was not quite 5, and though brave and social, she had been nervous around costumed characters before in the past.  I did all of the “they’re much bigger at parks, honey”, I showed her pictures and even videos on YouTube (look up some of the ones of Donald when kids are wearing something to do with Mickey. LOL), and just generally made sure she loved the characters.  She also figured out on her own that they were people in the suits, though she went back and forth on believing that. 😉

But would this stand up when we actually got there?  I couldn’t be sure until we went, so I just crossed my fingers that all the character meals I had planned wouldn’t end in freak outs.

I really needn’t have worried.  Enjoy a huge number of pictures.  I really hope she gets to meet even more the next time we go.  Please keep in mind that booking a Disney trip with me is free, and it will help me get my girl back to WDW for at least a few days.  With that said… here we go. ^_^

The very first character we saw. And he was EVERYWHERE. This was Hollywood Studios.

The very first character we saw. And he was EVERYWHERE. This was Hollywood Studios.

Daisy and Donald had the greatest costumes!

Daisy and Donald had the greatest costumes!

And Minnie! EVERYONE loved Minnie.  What a dear.

And Minnie! EVERYONE loved Minnie. What a dear.

I like to think Mickey is kind of like "She's ... choking me..."

I like to think Mickey is kind of like “She’s … choking me…”

D was really into Woody for months after she saw Toy Story :)

D was really into Woody for months after she saw Toy Story 🙂

I don't know, some people might be creeped out by faceless soldiers.

I don’t know, some people might be creeped out by faceless plastic soldiers.

 

We came out from the restrooms and NOBODY was in line to see Brer Rabbit. She got him to herself!

We came out from the restrooms and NOBODY was in line to see Brer Rabbit. She got him to herself!

 

Minnie again! Minnie sang Happy Birthday to her. :D

Minnie again! Minnie sang Happy Birthday to her. 😀

 

Goofy liked her hat.

Goofy liked her hat.

 

I LOVE her face in this. at the Garden Grill.

I LOVE her face in this. at the Garden Grill.

 

Her she's asking Chip to dance. :D

Here she’s asking Chip to dance. 😀

 

We didn't get a lot of character time our first day at MK, but the Fairy Godmother was out first thing!

We didn’t get a lot of character time our first day at MK, but the Fairy Godmother was out first thing!

 

First time I'd ever seen Pirate Goofy! We came out and there he was!

First time I’d ever seen Pirate Goofy! We came out and there he was!

 

At the Princess Breakfast at Akershus, Belle and D were twins :)

At the Princess Breakfast at Akershus, Belle and D were twins 🙂

 

Cinderella was the BEST.

Cinderella was the BEST.

 

I love this hug with Ariel! I keep trying to get her to love Ariel best but she really does like Cinders too. ;)

I love this hug with Ariel! I keep trying to get her to love Ariel best but she really does like Cinders too. 😉

 

And Stitch again, at the Magic Kingdom this time

And Stitch again, at the Magic Kingdom this time

 

...Does this count as character greets?

…Does this count as character greets?

 

And Stitch AGAIN, at Hollywood Studios,

And Stitch AGAIN, at Hollywood Studios,

 

Then Rafiki came in! And it was like "WHUUUT?"

Then Rafiki came in! And it was like “WHUUUT?”

 

AND Mary Poppins. This party was ON.

AND Mary Poppins. This party was ON.

 

Princess Jasmine had to fix D's tiara. She's motherly like that.

Princess Jasmine had to fix D’s tiara. She’s motherly like that.

 

D was very, very taken with Jack Sparrow.

D was very, very taken with Jack Sparrow.

 

This was my favourite meet and greet of all! I may be biased.

This was my favourite meet and greet of all! I may be biased.

 

3 thoughts on “A World of Character Meet and Greets

  1. These pictures are GREAT! On my daughter’s first trip, she was shy & not interested in characters at all. I myself became more interested in character meets in later years, and much to my surprise, she did too! Her cousins had an autograph book, which she thought was very cool. That was our doorway in during our most recent trip, and she wanted to meet everybody! We are both mostly face character fans, but I’ll meet & greet anyone who doesn’t have a terribly long line 🙂 …

Leave a Reply

