Saturday Blog Showcase: Mickey Mutineers

This is my fourth blog showcase and it’s about time I got around to showcasing a blog that’s not written and run by women. πŸ˜€ After all, there are plenty o’ men in the Disney fandom too!

So I’ll say, first of all, that if you’re in a certain age range (or maybe outside a certain age range), the Mickey Mutineers might not appeal to you. Maybe. I guess mainly I mean if you are a parent who thinks of Disney as something always family-friendly and appropriate for kids of all ages, and you think that ever referring to it any other way is offensive and wrong, you won’t like the Mutineers. I’ll put it that way. πŸ˜€

With that out of the way I think they are HILARIOUS. Oh my freaking LORD. They do both a blog and a podcast, and the podcast is not really safe for work listening unless you have headphones – and I do listen to it at work with headphones and even then sometimes there are problems but I make due – but the blog is not so much of an issue. Mostly the blog is just hilarious.

The main thing to know is that the Mutineers – there are three of them – are irreverant, bizarre, and let the pop culture references fly thick and fast. All of this appeals to me and my sense of humour. They are also occasionally immature and obscene, but that is more for the podcast and not so much in the blog. πŸ˜‰

Meanwhile, they are also all well-acquainted with the Disney parks and are big fans, and so the blog covers more seriously some topics that they genuinely admire or support – it’s not ALL irreverant satire or anything, it’s just the writing style that tends to entertain. Like in this post about It’s A Small World, which you keep expecting to be against IASW and then it’s ultimately for it. *G* They’ve also covered the monorails at both Disneyland and Walt Disney World, some of the resort options with details, and comparisons of Space Mountain at each park. And then occasionally you get your Planet of the Apes reference, or your Arrested Development quip, and you (meaning me) are happy for the rest of the day.

They also cover well for the fact that they’re genuinely nice guys, and a lot of fun to talk to on Twitter. πŸ™‚ Of note, I’m pretty sure the Twitter account is mostly just Jake, but he represents all of them and talks in the royal “we” so hey. It’s fair. πŸ˜‰

So final thoughts! I can’t actually definitely say that the Mutineers are absolutely for everyone, since after all they are “inappropriate on so many levels”, but they are among my favourite reads (and listens) in the Disney community right now, so if you don’t get offended super easily I think they are for you. I know I’m not the only one who finds them very entertaining, in any case.

7 thoughts on “Saturday Blog Showcase: Mickey Mutineers

  1. Pingback: Making Sure the Kids are Out of the Room… | Disney With Me

Leave a Reply

