Review: The Magic Kingdom’s Harmony Barbershop

Here’s the five-word review: I love the Harmony Barbershop.

If you feel a need to read more, however, I’ve got plenty. 🙂

This is the place!  The pole means it's legit.

This is the place! The pole means it’s legit.

So the only place I really enjoy getting my hair cut is the Harmony Barbershop.  This is too bad because it’s about 900 miles from my house, give or take 20 miles.  Everywhere else makes me nervous because the people who do the cutting always seem to feel a need to comment on how poorly I take care of my hair or something, as if I don’t know that only getting it cut twice a year leads to lots of split ends, or as if this is going to make me want to come back and be harangued again in two months.  But!  This is not so at Harmony!  Instead we talk about things I like, such as Disney World, for instance.  I have had two very nice haircuts done there, both with a pixie-dusted ending, and last time I forewent my own cut and let my kids have a go.  That was a mixed experience; my daughter loved it (and had an amusing chat with another customer while they were both waiting their turns), but my son, having his first haircut at age 1 1/2, was less enthusiastic.  The CM who cut his hair handled him extremely well and even kept him smiling and happy until about midway through.  For the record – it is STILL, two years later, nearly impossible to get him to submit to a haircut.  I have to do it myself because it takes DAYS to talk him into it and I usually have to let him watch a video of Splash Mountain on YouTube while we do it.  So Harmony Barbership is still the ONLY place he’s had a haircut, other than home.

Now for some specifics!

First of all, if this is all entirely new to you and you’ve never even heard of Harmony Barbershop, it is located on Main Street USA in the Magic Kingdom, near the horse stables.  It’s tucked away to the side, on the left near the trolley tracks.  Last I checked, they do accept walk-ins, but it’s a small shop and if there is more than one person ahead of you waiting, you will wait for a WHILE.  This is actually the case even if you make reservations (which you can do). So don’t expect to be in and out in like, 20 minutes… it can be up to an hour.  Having said that, though, I feel it’s worth the wait so long as you know what you’re getting into.

As with everywhere else in WDW, the CMs have uniforms, which I find charming.  There are oversized novelty scissors, too.  And it’s really surprising to me that the staff is, in fact, really GOOD at cutting hair.  I guess it shouldn’t be such a surprise but who thinks they’re going to be getting a great haircut at a theme park?  Well, you know, this is Disney so there it is. 😉

I didn't specifically take any "before" pics of my hair the last time I had it cut there, but this shot includes the back of my head :P

I didn’t specifically take any “before” pics of my hair the last time I had it cut there, but this shot includes the back of my head 😛

And here's an "after" shot - cute, curly, and apparently I am infatuated with Goofy. (This was my birthday dinner.)

And here’s an “after” shot – cute, curly, and apparently I am infatuated with Goofy. (This was my birthday dinner.)

For children, there is an utterly adorable “First Haircut” package that you can get which comes with special mouse ears and a certificate. I took photos and movies throughout my son’s haircut and captured his decline from amusement to frustration to eventual “WHY ARE YOU NOT PICKING ME UP” by the end, but he was positively shaggy the first three days of our trip and looked like a delightful little man at the end.  The CM did this while he was screaming towards the end so I give her immense props, not just for being a good hair stylist but for putting up with a screaming 18-month-old. 😀  Anyway here is just a fraction of the drama as it went down:

The CM had him touch everything before she used it, to warm him up

The CM had him touch everything before she used it, to warm him up

He loved the R2D2 spinner thing.

He loved the R2D2 spinner thing.

He also loved the spray bottle - at first. He laughed pretty loud the first few times she spritzed him.

He also loved the spray bottle – at first. He laughed pretty loud the first few times she spritzed him.

Another thing - the CM encouraged my husband to hang around and distract him instead of acting like he was in the way.

Another thing – the CM encouraged my husband to hang around and distract him instead of acting like he was in the way.

This is pretty far into it and he's still reasonably happy!

This is pretty far into it and he’s still reasonably happy!

Aaand there we go.  But by this point we have achieved Small Man haircut.

Aaand there we go. But by this point we have achieved Small Man haircut.

Not a fan of the mouse ears at first. In fact it was about a month before he wanted them at all.

Not a fan of the mouse ears at first. In fact it was about a month before he wanted them at all.

See how handsome!

See how handsome!

As for my daughter, she has had multiple haircuts professionally and was more than ready to submit to this.  Not that we didn’t take plenty of photos but they’re not as entertaining. 😉  So instead here’s a before, during, and after:

My daughter is the blonde. The shorter one.

My daughter is the blonde. The shorter one.

No spinny thing for her!

No spinny thing for her!

So gorgeous! The next thing she said was "I want to go swimming now!" :P

So gorgeous! The next thing she said was “I want to go swimming now!” 😛

Prices at the Harmony Barbershop are $15-19 for adults, and kids 12 and under are $14.  You can get packages, similar to what they do at the Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique (the basic stuff, that is – no costumes/manicures), with glitter and coloured gel.  They distract with bubbles and spinny shiny things, and even adults can get the pixie dust and Mickey stickers.  And although this has never happened to me, well, they call it “Harmony” for a reason – you can sometimes get serenaded by the Dapper Dans while you’re getting the cuts done.  I keep hoping next time will be my time. 😀

Leave a Reply

