Review: Guide to the Magic For Kids

So before I start, I want to make it clear that I chose to write this review, I have no affiliations at all with Tim Foster and I didn’t get any review copies or anything.

However, I am *willing* to do Disney-related product reviews if approached, you know, just saying. 😉

So! There’s a pretty decent chance you’ve heard of Tim Foster’s Guide to the Magic website and books. If you haven’t, they are travel guides to WDW that are largely photo-based and very nicely graphically designed. I’ve only seen the “Guide to the Magic For Kids”, which I ordered two years ago as a Christmas present for my daughter just before we went on our first trip together. I got the previous revision – it’s been recently update with information on New Fantasyland and the new Test Track, and I can’t speak to the quality of that information. Given what I know about Tim Foster from his appearances on WDW Radio, I’d have to assume it’s very well-researched.

In any case, I ordered the book a short while before the latest release was ready, so I had to wait a while to get it. Not a problem because it was shipping just in time for Christmas. The only downside? We moved while I was waiting, and I nearly forgot to email Tim with my updated address! I got him JUST before the book shipped so all was well.

Guide to the Magic for Kids cover (c) by Tim Foster, not by me

Guide to the Magic for Kids cover (c) by Tim Foster, not by me

The book, when it arrived, was so attractive and appealing that I wanted to read it all by myself. I should give a disclaimer that I am consistently fascinated by Disney guidebooks and I am prone to taking them out from the library and reading them like novels. You know, as you do. Anyway, the photos… oh, the photos. They’re great.

GttMfK is also interactive, which I love. It includes not just photos, descriptions and trivia of each attraction, but also stickers for each attraction to put on the corresponding pages; activities like checking off which monorails you’ve ridden on or which characters you’ve seen; a journal to list what you did each day, where you ate, what the weather was like, what park you visted; and there are scavenger hunts and hidden Mickey information, too.

Well obviously I was delighted with it, but what did my daughter think? Nearly five at the time, she loved it. She was just learning to read and this was a little over her head by herself, but there are so many photos that she didn’t need to read. We went through it to drive up our excitement pre-trip, brought it on the trip, went through it at night to recap our days and plan our next day, passed time with it on the monorails, and once we got home we finished filling it in, ranking favourite rides, and then got to use it to relive the memories and look up the things we hadn’t had a chance to do but would try for next time.

In short, I really recommend this book for kids, I’d say probably up to age 10 for certain; since my daughter is currently about to be 7 and is the eldest in the family, I don’t know how much past 10 it would go up to, but hey, I’m in my mid-30s and I love it. So there ya go.

The latest edition of GttMfK is currently on sale from the full price of $29.95 and is marked down by 33%, to $19.95 plus shipping and handling. You can also get an Autograph and Sticker Book, which I haven’t tried and can’t review, for $11.95 plus s&h. I give this book two thumbs up and really recommend it, especially as a pre-travel gift for a child who has never been to WDW!

Leave a Reply

