Limited Time Magic: Love It or Leave It?

Everything I hear about Limited Time Magic at the Disney Parks sounds awesome, but from reports I’ve heard it’s been “underwhelming” so far on the East Coast (better received on the West Coast evidently).  I don’t really quite get just what this means – are their events having a low turnout?  Is the feedback just not good?  Or is fan buzz kind of a “meh”?

Personally I think the two Limited Time Magic events they’ve done so far were pretty cool – things I’d love to have happened to be in the park for.  Not stuff I’d want to plan around, which I think is perfect.  I mean, yes, I *would* try to plan around a week when I knew I’d get to meet Darkwing Duck, but that’s just me. 🙂

I would also totally hit on Launchpad McQuack if he happened to be wandering around. Maybe for the best that he's not.

I would also totally hit on Launchpad McQuack if he happened to be wandering around. Maybe for the best that he’s not.

But the two events – snow in the Canada pavilion at Epcot, and the chance to meet some characters who aren’t seen much anymore – those are pretty cool things to just walk into.  I like those ideas a lot!  What’s not to like?  I got the impression the events weren’t intended to drive attendance at the parks, precisely, just as a way to give some special experiences to people who were already there.

So this week it’s apparently a chance to choose the 2014 artwork, which I’ll admit is less interesting to me, partly because I previewed the images and voted and now… it’s over. 😦  I think sticking mainly to Park experiences is the way to go.  I’ll have to pay more attention to the Disneyland LTMs, which I hear are pretty cool too.  My attention always gravitates toward WDW so it’s kind of monopolized over there. 😉

Opinions on Limited Time Magic?  It reminds me of the Year of a Million Dreams, which was *totally* to drive attendance at the parks, but it was just so lovely.  I didn’t get anything major, just a couple of free fastpasses and things, but it was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

