Adventures In Baking: Squirt Happy Turtlecakes

When my son was little, he used to call cake “Happy Cake” (probably because of “Happy Birthday” accompanying the cake). So when I came across a recipe for “Squirt Happy Turtlecakes” on Spoonful.com, the name alone was a big draw for me. :)  I decided to make them for my birthday, which is tomorrow.  I did let the kids help. ;) And my daughter even suggested an improvement, which was to dye the frosting blue!

 

So if you’re coasting through this blog post without clicking the link – which is totally fine – I’ll just sum up with an explanation of what it is. The recipe isn’t so much for the cupcakes as it is for the decorations, which use candy to make cute little representations of Squirt, the baby sea turtle (offspring of Crush) in “Finding Nemo”.  The blue frosting takes the idea one step further, suggesting (along with the cupcake liners we picked out) the Big Blue and the EAC.  I won’t reprint the recipe here but do go to the Spoonful.com link above if you want to try these cupcakes, which are fun and easy!

 

Meanwhile here are the visual proofs of my labour!

Yaaay cupcakes! There IS a difference between muffins and cupcakes without frosting, though I'll admit sometimes it's a scant difference.

Yaaay cupcakes! There IS a difference between muffins and cupcakes without frosting, though I’ll admit sometimes it’s a scant difference.

Our "turtle shells" are gummi peach rings and gumdrops

Our “turtle shells” are gummi peach rings and gumdrops

An assembled turtle shell

An assembled turtle shell

Spearmint leaf candies are sliced up for front and back fins

Spearmint leaf candies are sliced up for front and back fins

Oh no! WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO HIS HEAD?! (Obviously it's buried in the cupcake somehow)

Oh no! WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO HIS HEAD?! (Obviously it’s buried in the cupcake somehow)

A close-up; the recipe includes mini chocolate chips for eyes but I thought that was overkill. I admit that he looks a little incomplete, though.

A close-up; the recipe includes mini chocolate chips for eyes but I thought that was overkill. I admit that he looks a little incomplete, though.

My daughter insisted on her hand appearing in the photo to show off the completed Squirt.

My daughter insisted on her hand appearing in the photo to show off the completed Squirt.

We ran out of green gumdrops (seriously, it was like 4 to a bag!! We had TWO BAGS and only got 8 heads!) so the last few got different-coloured heads. They still love and accept each other!

We ran out of green gumdrops (seriously, it was like 4 to a bag!! We had TWO BAGS and only got 8 heads!) so the last few got different-coloured heads. They still love and accept each other!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Adventures In Baking: Squirt Happy Turtlecakes

Leave a Reply

